Trials of Ascendancy

The Trials

"The last Emperor is always the worst Emperor."

By this point you've probably encountered at least one of the Trials of Ascendancy (gated by a slightly glowing green door) in The Lower Prison (Act 1), the Chamber of Sins Level 2 (Act 2), or the Crypt Level 1 (Act 2).

Completing a set of the Trials of Ascendancy will yield access to the Lord's Labyrinth, where you'll earn your Ascendancy subclass. As a result, completing trials is essentially mandatory on a new character. There are four levels of the Labyrinth, each with its own set of Trials:

  • The Normal Labyrinth, accessible near the end of Act 3.
  • The Cruel Labyrinth, accessible near the midpoint of Act 7.
  • The Merciless Labyrinth, accessible near the midpoint of Act 10.
  • The Eternal Labyrinth, accessed after finding a collection of trials in endgame Maps.

(Note: you only need to complete each set of Trials once in a given League. Their progress is shared across all your characters in a League, so subsequent characters can skip them. You do still have to complete the Labyrinth itself on each new character, though - we'll talk more about this during Act 4.)

Completing the Trials

Each Trial introduces one of the six types of trap (lowercase-t, not a Trap skill) that you'll find in the Labyrinth. In each Trial, you'll need to navigate a room filled with the new type of trap and each an altar located at the end of the Trial.

The Trials for the Normal Labyrinth, the first one you'll access, are located in:

  • The Lower Prison (Act 1)
  • The Crypt, Level 1 (Act 2)
  • The Chamber of Sins, Level 2 (Act 2)
  • The Crematorium (Act 3)
  • The Catacombs (Act 3)
  • The Imperial Gardens (Act 3)

If you haven't completed the first three Trials on this list, you may as well go do so now. There's no reason to wait any further.

Checking Your Completed Trials

You can check what Trials you've completed by visiting the plaque underneath the statue on the upper level of the Sarn Encampment (Act 3's town). The trials above are listed in order, starting at the top-left and going top-to-bottom then left-to-right.

Section Header: Main Story (Act 3)

Next Page: Early Act 3